Affiliated Fellowships

Civitella Ranieri has a longstanding tradition of Affiliated Fellowships. Fellowships are often funded in part by the sponsoring agency and in other cases, travel expenses alone are covered. Collaboration with outside organizations enriches the program, the pool of candidates, and the profile of the Civitella community. 


For 14 years we collaborated with the UNESCO-Aschberg Bursaries for Artists Programme to reach potential candidates in all of our three disciplines from under-represented countries. In 2012 Civitella hosted a Beirut 39 writer sponsored by the Alliance of Artist Communities.


Current Affiliated Fellowships include:

Academy of American Poets
Each recipient of the annual Walt Whitman Prize will receive a residency at Civitella, along with a $5,000 first book award for an American poet, with the manuscript published by Graywolf Press.

The Center for Italian Modern Art (CIMA) Affiliated Fellowship
This partnership enables an art historian, of any nationality, to participate in a residency at Civitella. Interested candidates should apply directly to the Center for Italian Modern Art (

Composers Now Affiliated Fellowship
Composers Now annually sponsors a composer's residency at Civitella.

The Kirby-Mewshaw Affiliated Fellowship
The Kirby-Mewshaw Family annually sponsors a gifted writer or visual artist for a residency at Civitella.

The Lexi Rudnitsky First Book Prize in Poetry, with Persea Books
This annual competition sponsors the publication of a poetry collection by a female American poet who has yet to publish a full-length book of poems. The winner receives an advance of $1,000.00 and publication of her collection by Persea Books, along with a residency at Civitella.

PEN America Center
This partnership offers a PEN Member and author to participate in a residency at Civitella on a bi-annual basis.


If you or your organization is interested in creating an Affiliated Fellowship with the Civitella Ranieri Foundation, please contact us at to explore possibilities.